Londinium

I last left off having settled into my flat.  The next morning, I walked across the Waterloo Bridge and made my way to King’s College London for registration.  My hard-earned photocopies ready and waiting, I handed them over in return for my ID badge.  A King’s College ID.  I was quite excited when it was placed into my hand, the official proof that I am enrolled at King’s, if only for the summer.  The university also provided these fantastic orange and grey backpacks (insert sarcasm here).  Orange is one of the ugliest colors on the planet, in my opinion.  After taking a tour of the building and breaking for lunch, one of the Student Ambassadors led us to our classroom.

Maggie, our tutor, distributed the books and we jumped right in and have since been cantering our way through Latin grammar.  Luckily, I entered the beginning Latin course.  It has been mainly review, which has been a great help as the focus is grammar-based in class and heavy translation at home.  I try to get in some sightseeing between class and dinner, but from around 20:00 to 00:00, I am usually working on homework.  We’re now into the second week and have covered more than I did in two months at UNC.

In my spare time, I was able to see Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing.  I have a policy of not reading Shakespeare’s plays prior to seeing them performed, as Shakespeare only meant his work to be for the stage.  So I went in blind.  All I knew was that David Tennant and Catherine Tate, two amazing actors and Doctor Who alumni, would be performing the lead roles.  The show is completely sold out for the entire run, but they hold a lottery for twenty tickets to each show.  I stood in line from 9:20 until 11:00 on Saturday morning, waiting to see if my lottery number was called.  It was not, but as I had arrived so early, I was first in line to buy a standing ticket.

The ticket cost me £16 and I had to stand for the entire performance, but it was well worth it.  I was in stitches for the first half of the play, only to be sobered up with the seriousness of the remainder.  After the standing ovation, I literally ran out of the theatre and around to the stage door.  I waited with close to a hundred other people for David and Catherine to exit and sign autographs.  We were not disappointed.  I was not able to get Catherine’s autograph, but I David signed my program in his untidy scrawl.  He is truly great and quite funny in person.  I was ecstatic.

DAVID TENNANT AND CATHERINE TATE!

Well, Latina me vocat (Latin calls me) and I must return to my translations.

Leave a Reply

