The Joys of Packing

The day of departure draws ever closer.  I have packed my duffel bag with all manner of clothing, my backpack is filled with books and small necessaries and, in my fear of losing my bag, I have even packed a spare outfit in my backpack.  The weather even seems to have cleared in London; the grey, cold rain giving way to warmer, sunnier days.  I am very much looking forward to my journey and have been watching Merlin whilst I pack.

Roma.  La Citta Eterna.  With warm days and cool nights, it is the ideal summer getaway.  Ruins and gelato await me and I them with bated breath.  I am still compiling a list of things to do during my trip and it is becoming even more clear that Rome cannot be seen in a day. Luckily, I have four!  Of course, the Colosseum and the Vatican are on the list.  A professor of mine from last semester has informed me of a method which could provide several minutes alone in the Sistine Chapel. I will certainly take advantage of such an opportunity, if I am able.  Sadly, after my four days of frolicking through the eternal city, I will have to bid arrivederci to its ancient sites and make my way to London to begin my studies at King’s College.

I have a friend in London already, studying on the same program in which I participated last summer.  It’s great to see another experiencing all the joys that London has to offer and cultivating the same love for the city that I have.  She has seen the production of Much Ado About Nothing that I am so eager to see myself.  Doctor Who alumni David Tennant and Catherine Tate are the leads in the play and, having such great performers, the production can be nothing but spectacular.  Having searched for other productions currently gracing the West End stages, it would seem that much of my money will be spent attending such great shows.  I have yet to see Phantom of the Opera and it is high on my list of things to do, along with having afternoon tea at Harrod’s.  Perhaps I can make a reservation for my friend and I…

Well, it’s back to packing. Ciao!

 

2 thoughts on “The Joys of Packing

  1. You are about to embark on another of many, many adventures that are instore for you as you travel life; embrace each and every experience to the fullest. Life only goes around once for all of us and we make choices daily that will bring us positive or negative outcomes. Just remember a few basic rules of life. Do unto others the way you would want them to do unto you…(your Poppy’s favorite) and my personal favorite; make sure you stand for something; so you won’t fall for anything!!! lol So simple but yet, so true!!! Always hold your head up high and live, laugh and love every single second of every single day!!! I am proud to call you my nephew and I have always admired your intelligience and your loving nature!!! Please take care of yourself and never forget where you came from because we want you back as often as you will come…..<3

Leave a Reply

